HERO – #lightweightweapon

The HERO redefines the class of ultralight high-performance gliders. High top speed combined with precise handling characteristics. With size small weighing in at less than 3 kg, it’s also the lightest glider in class.

HERO – Ultralight High Performance!

Powerful, compact and light – starting at just 2.9 kg.

Normally, a lightweight glider design is based from an existing full-sized wing. But in the case of the HERO, we’ve started completely from scratch – optimizing every part for efficiency and weight reduction.

Pilot profile

  • Beginner 0% 0%
  • Occasional 25% 25%
  • Expert 100% 100%
  • School 0% 0%
  • Competitions (Red Bull X-Alps, Hike & Fly etc.) 100% 100%
  • Hike&Fly 100% 100%
  • XC 100% 100%

Designed for the versatility and limitless combinations of Hike & Fly and XC, the HERO is the attractive choice for competition pilots, vol-biv enthusiasts, and backcountry adventurers.

Especially in competitions or XC-Hike & Fly combinations, the HERO exploits all its strengths.

At just 2.9kg and an incredibly small pack size, it’s perfect for any ambitious Hike & Fly XC pilots and/or vol-biv enthusiasts.

But even in normal XC flights, the HERO can show its performance and take you much further!

How does it fly?

To prove that performance is not based wholly on the premise that the greater number of cells is always superior, we’ve designed this glider with only 59 cells at an AR of 6.95, achieving top-level performance.
We’ve introduced a brand-new winglet-shaped tip design that improves roll-stability when flying accelerated. In combination with our proven Vortex Holes, it has a positive effect on wing-tip stability in turbulent conditions.

By inventing a new airfoil profile that creates greater lift, we could retain a compact surface area, delivering perfect climbing and direct and precise handling characteristics and optimum safety.

In order to achieve high top-speed, we intentionally positioned the glider within the EN-D range. The HERO flight performance feels perfectly balanced, very agile and precise in handling, which is confidence inspiring in both smooth and turbulent conditions.

Construction & Features

To further reduce drag and improve performance, a completely new line-setup was developed for the HERO, which presents as an unconventional 3-liner concept. The positions of the line-attachment points work together with new internal construction in order to avoid the need for straps or polyamide wires in the body of the glider, again permitting a greater reduction in weight. The HERO line configuration showcases 2 main-lines on each side, (A-B-C riser-set) achieving a very low overall line consumption. Controlling the wing efficiently in-flight with B-risers is also possible via new B/C Riser Control.

Other advantages of lightweight construction include improvements in performance and safety.
The HERO comes with polyamide wires only situated at the nose area, providing you with the best opportunity for small pack-downs. In addition, the wing comes with our compact and lightweight 50/50 AirPack.


Double mini A-Line attachments, in combination with Shark-Nose design technology provide the HERO with increased stability, especially under acceleration. The HERO brings an impressive speed range to the table, and is optimised for top-end speed and glide.

  • Weight-optimised construction
  • Vortex Holes
  • 3D-Cut
  • Mini-Ribs
  • Razor-Edge
  • Unsheathed lines
  • Lightweight risers
  • 50/50 AirPack
  • “The HERO is my first choice in all Hike & Fly competitions. The compact pack size and light weight paired with the performance of the HERO make it my best companion in any competition or XC flight.”

    – Patrick Sieber (X-Pyr Participant 2018)

    “Whether Expedition, XC Flight or Hike&Fly Competition; the HERO – #lightweightweapon is for me the perfect ‘Light High Performace Wing’. The packing size and the simple starting behavior always conjure a grin on my face. “

    – Gerald Gold (Red Bull Xalps participant)

    Special Colours desired?

    Of Course, you can also customize this glider with the help of our configurator and order it in special colors!

    your HERO – #lightweightweapon Package

    Delivery

    • Glider
    • 50/50 AirPack
    • Map with Manual (USB stick)
    • Repair Materials and AirDesign Stickers

    Downloads

    Thumb

    Hero-SM_FTR_german

    Thumb

    Hero-SM_FTR_english

    Thumb

    Hero-S_FTR_german

    Thumb

    Hero-S_FTR_english

    Thumb

    Hero-M_FTR_german

    Thumb

    Hero-M_FTR_english

    Thumb

    HERO SM - lines

    Thumb

    HERO S - lines

    Thumb

    HERO M - lines

    Thumb

    HERO line plan

    Thumb

    HERO Betriebshandbuch - Manual D-E rev3

    Thumb

    Hero-SM_certificate

    Thumb

    Hero-S-certificate

    Thumb

    HERO.web

    Where you can find us

    AirDesign GmbH
    Rhombergstr. 9, 4.Stock
    A-6067 Absam
    Innsbruck

     

    Contact

    +43 (0) 5223 22480

    info@ad-gliders.com
    Imprint
    Privacy policy

    Opening hours

    Mon-Thu: 8am – 5pm

    Fri: 8am – 2pm

    Dealer Area

     

    DONUT – Rescuesystem

    The DONUT rescue system combines the advantages of cross and round caps. The DONUT is cut like a cross, but resembles a round cap in appearance. This makes packing easy as usual - just like with a round cap. The DONUT is available in sizes 90, 100, 120 and 220 (tandem) and offers due to its light weight (from 860g!) and its security extremely many possibilities.

    Produktregistrierung

    Hier kannst du deinen Schirm registrieren und dir damit 1 Jahr Garantieverlängerungen sichern!
    • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY
      Abonniere jetzt unseren Newsletter um über Sicherheitsmitteilungen zu deinem Produkt und Neuigkeiten informiert zu werden und exklusive Aktionen für Abonnenten nicht zu verpassen!

HERO – #lightweightweapon

Der HERO definiert die Klasse der Ultralight High Performance Schirme von Grund auf neu. Hoher Topspeed und beste Steigeigenschaften bei präzisem Handling – die Größe S startet bei unter 3 kg, der HERO ist somit der Leichteste seiner Klasse! 

HERO – Ultralight High Performance!

Leistungsstark, kompakt und leicht beginnend bei nur 2,9 kg.

Im Normalfall leitet sich ein Leichtschirm von einem bereits bestehendem Modell ab. Der HERO hingegen beschreitet andere Wege: Er wurde vom Zeichenbrett weg gänzlich neu konstruiert, um jedes einzelne Bauteil effizient und gewichtsoptimiert einzusetzen.

Pilotenprofil

  • Anfänger 0% 0%
  • Genußpilot 25% 25%
  • Experte 100% 100%
  • Ausbildung 0% 0%
  • Wettbewerbe (Red Bull X-Alps, Hike&Fly etc.) 100% 100%
  • Hike&Fly 100% 100%
  • XC 100% 100%

Entwickelt für die Kombination von Hike & Fly und XC ist der HERO die attraktivste Wahl für Wettkampfpiloten, Biwak-Abenteurer und Back Country Streckenflieger.

Gerade bei Wettbewerben oder XC-Hike&Fly Kombinationen spielt der HERO all seine Stärken aus.

Mit nur 2,9kg und einem unglaublich kleinem Packmaß ist er perfekt für jeden Ambitionierten Hike&Fly Streckenpiloten und/oder Biwakliebhaber.

Aber auch bei normalen Streckenflügen kann der HERO seine Performance zeigen und dich sehr weiter bringen! 

Wie er sich fliegt

Mit nur 59 Zellen bei einer Streckung von 6.95 ist es uns gelungen zu beweisen, dass Leistung nicht nur daran liegt, wieviele Zellen mehr sich verbauen lassen.  
Der Stabilo hat eine gänzlich neue Form erhalten, welche einem Winglet ähnelt. Dieses verbessert die Rolldämpfung und im Zusammenspiel mit den Vortex Holes beeinflusst es die Turbulenzen am Flügelende positiv.

Durch die Entwicklung eines neuartigen Profils, welches mehr Auftrieb erzeugt, konnte die Fläche kompakt gehalten und gleichzeitig die Steigeigenschaften sowie die Handling-Charakteristik perfektioniert werden.

Um hohen End-Speed erreichen zu können, wurde der HERO mit EN-D zertifiziert. Praktisch gesehen fliegt der HERO perfekt ausbalanciert, mit präzisem und agilem Handling – ein Paket dass dir Vertrauen, auch in turbulenten Bedingungen, schenkt.

Konstruktion & Features

Zur Reduktion des Widerstands erhielt der HERO ein neues Leinen Lay Out: Es handelt sich um einen 3-Leiner, jedoch nicht im konventionellem Sinne. Die Positionen der Auhängepunkte harmonieren mit der Konstruktion, auf zusätzliche „Straps“ oder „Wires“ konnte gänzlich verzichtet werden. Lediglich 2 Stammleinen pro Seite (auf A-B-C) reduzieren außerdem die Anzahl der Gesamtleinenlänge. Den HERO im Flug über die B-Tragegurte zu kontrollieren funktioniert bestens mit der neuen B/C-Control.

Weitere Vorteile der Leichtbauweise sind die Verbesserungen in Bezug auf Leistung und Sicherheit.
Wires sind im HERO nur an der Nase verbaut, was es denkbar einfach macht, den Schirm klein zu packen. Zusätzlich wird der Schirm mit einem kompakten und leichten Innenpacksack  ausgeliefert.


Doppelte Mini-A-Leinen in Kombination mit einem Shark-Nose-Design verleihen dem HERO sehr hohe Stabilität – speziell im beschleunigtem Zustand. Der Schirm weist einen großen Geschwindigkeitsbereich auf, optimiert für hohe Endgeschwindigkeit bei bestem Gleiten
 

  • Gewichtsoptimierte Konstruktion
  • Vortex Holes
  • 3D-Cut
  • Mini-Ribs
  • Razor-Edge
  • Unummantelte Beleinung
  • Gewichtsoptimierte Tragegurte
  • 50/50 Leicht-Innenpacksack
  • “Der HERO ist meine erste Wahl bei allen Hike&Fly Wettbewerben. Das kompakte Packmaß und das leichte Gewicht gepaart mit der Performance des HERO machen ihn für mich zum besten Begleiter bei jedem Bewerb oder XC Flug.”

    – Patrick Sieber(X-Pyr Teilnehmer 2018)

    “Ob Expedition, XC Flug oder Hike&Fly Wettbewerb; der HERO – #lightweightweapon ist für mich der perfekte ‘Light High Performace Wing’. Das Packmaß und das einfache Startverhalten zaubern mir immer wieder ein Grinsen ins Gesicht. “

    – Gerald Gold (Red Bull Xalps Teilnehmer)

    dein HERO – #lightweightweapon Paket

    Lieferumfang

    • Gleitschirm
    • 50/50 AirPack
    • Mappe mit Handbuch (USB-Stick)
    • Reparaturmaterialien und AirDesign Aufkleber

    Downloads

    Hero-SM_FTR_german

    Hero-SM_FTR_english

    Hero-S_FTR_german

    Hero-S_FTR_english

    Hero-M_FTR_german

    Hero-M_FTR_english

    HERO SM - lines

    HERO S - lines

    HERO M - lines

    HERO line plan

    HERO Betriebshandbuch - Manual D-E rev3

    Hero-SM_certificate

    Hero-S-certificate

    HERO.web

    Wo findest du uns

    AirDesign GmbH
    Rhombergstr. 9, 4.Stock
    A-6067 Absam
    Innsbruck 

     

    Öffnungszeiten

    Mo-Do: 8am - 5pm

    Fr: 8am - 2pm

     

    DONUT – Rettungssystem

    Das DONUT-Rettungssystem vereint die Vorteile von Kreuz- und Rundkappen. Der DONUT ist wie eine Kreuzkappe geschnitten, ähnelt im Aussehen jedoch eher einer Rundkappe. Dadurch bleibt das Packen gewohnt einfach – eben wie bei einer Rundkappe. Der DONUT ist in den Größen 90, 100, 120 und 220 (Tandem) verfügbar und bietet durch sein leichtes Gewicht (ab 860g !) und seine Sicherheit extrem viele Möglichkeiten.

    Produktregistrierung

    Hier kannst du deinen Schirm registrieren und dir damit 1 Jahr Garantieverlängerungen sichern!
    • Date Format: MM slash DD slash YYYY
      Abonniere jetzt unseren Newsletter um über Sicherheitsmitteilungen zu deinem Produkt und Neuigkeiten informiert zu werden und exklusive Aktionen für Abonnenten nicht zu verpassen!