SuSi 3 – #lightgearjunkie

Setting the standard for years, the new SuSi 3 evolves again. In the third generation, new paths are being taken and the horizon is broadened

SuSi 3 – Fast, Simple & Safe!

That’s the smallest EN/LTF-B Glider in the world!

Originally, the goal was to have a simple design with the best performance possible. This is how the concept name was derived – Super Simple → SuSi! The new SuSi 3 is a hike&fly all-round glider, suitable for various pilots and applications – from basic hike&fly to extreme mountaineering and strong wind soaring. The new SuSi 3 covers all of these applications with ease.

  • Beginner 75% 75%
  • Occasional 95% 95%
  • Expert 100% 100%
  • School 25% 25%
  • Competitions (Dolomitenmann etc.) 100% 100%
  • Hike&Fly 100% 100%
  • XC 25% 25%

Pilot profile

The SuSi 3 is perfect for the low-level B pilot looking for a forgiving lightweight wing, or for those choosing to operate on the upper side of the weight range, providing the lightest and fastest equipment for extreme mountaineering or high-wind soaring conditions. The extensive weight range offered within the SuSi3 lineup provides you with all the options to choose the right size for whatever your adventure demands. We’ve developed a chart to assist you in choosing the right glider for your application.

If you are looking for basic wing behaviour from a low EN-B glider, then choose according to the fields with a green background. Those seeking fun in the blue background with higher loadings will notice the increased trim-speed, requiring greater pilot experience. The glider’s behaviour still remains predictable, and provides greater flying options, such as strong-wind soaring opportunities.

How does it fly?

The concept of Super-Simple relates not only to the construction, but even more to the flying characteristics. The SuSi 3 is one of the most forgiving and easiest wings on the market – now proven with the certification (EN-B in many sizes and loadings). Simplest launching and a rock-solid canopy which defies the roughest turbulence are just a couple of the key characteristics of the SuSi 3.

Turning response is reminiscent to playing a high-speed video game – agile and responsive. Manoeuvres – such as Big-Ears, B-Stall or Spirals – are easy to achieve and are uncomplicated.

Speed system acceleration is excellent and the glider remains ultra-stable throughout the complete bar range, extending your adventure playground. So you have a great scope for manoeuvres in your adventures.

Construction & Features

Weight: An overall optimized construction, in combination with the lightest materials made it possible to realise our smallest packing volume glider ever and reduces the glider weight dramatically – 1.85kg for the size 13 is a clear statement to the market.

Performance and Speed: A new airfoil and further improvements in the design increase performance by half a glide angle. That’s why the SuSi 3 matches (and in some cases smashes) many EN-B wings. Depending on the loading/glider size chosen, the SuSi 3 can accelerate by more than +20km/h when utilising speed-bar, resulting in a maximum top-speed of way over 60 km/h (size 14 with top parameter loading!).

Risers: As you’d expect, the new Dyneema braid style riser-set is also designed for ultra-low weight.

New Sizing: Long time requested, and now we’ve delivered. The size 13 will be the smallest and fastest size offering within the SuSi 3 range – aimed squarely at #speedjunkies. Perched at the top of the range, the 23 is the largest, focusing on the needs of the current intermediate / developing pilot.

“The SuSi 3 is really the most wicked wing I’ve ever flown. I’ve never had as much fun flying as I do now. Whether a cosy Hike & Fly or demanding competition à la Dolomitenmann; I’m perfectly equipped with the SuSi.”

-Michi Zelzer (RedBull Dolomitenmann Participant)

“For flying in the strong coastal wind, the SuSi 3 was my first choice. I am absolutely thrilled about the speed and the so unfathomably simple but totally fun, agile handling. I’ve really never had such an amazing wing! “

– Geti G. (Acro-Artist)

Construction & Features

Size1316182123
Area flat (m2)13,6415,9518,0620,5722,99
Area projected (m2)11,7413,7215,5517,7019,79
Span flat (m)8,138,799,369,9910,56
Span projected (m)6,567,097,558,068,53
Aspect ratio flat4,854,854,854,854,85
Aspect ration projected3,673,673,673,673,67
V-TRIM/V-MAX (km/h)41/6637/6236/5735/5635/56
Cells3434343434
Weight (kg)1,862,052,292,562,81
LTF/EN CategoryEN DEN B-CEN B-CEN B-CEN B
Take-off-weight (kg)60-8750-75 (B)
75-89 (C)
50-70 (B)
70-97 (C)
60-83 (B)
83-108 (C)
72-122

Segeltuch/Sail/Voile:
• Obersegel/Top Sail/Extrados: Porcher Skytex 27 classic II
• Untersegel/Bottom Sail/Intrados: Porcher Skytex 27 classic II
• Rippen/Ribs/Cloisons: Porcher Skytex 27 hard

 

Leinen/Lines/Suspentes:
• Gallerieleinen/Top lines/Suspentes hautes: Edelrid 8000/U-070, 090
• Gabelleinen/Middle lines/Suspentes moyennes: Edelrid 8000/U-130, 190
• Stammleinen/Main lines/Suspentes basses: Edelrid 8000/U-190, 230, 280

Tragegurt/Riser/Elévateurs:
EDELRID Taurus – ~3,7mm Dyneema Rope

Schraubschäkel/Maillons:
4,3mm JOO-TECH/Korea

DURALIGHT
Vortex Holes
Flex – Rods
3D-Cut
Mini-Ribs
Razor Edge
Maillon clips
Unsheathed Lines
Superlight Dyneema Risers
BS pulley Connector
B/C control

Special Colours desired?

Of Course, you can also customize this glider with the help of our configurator and order it in special colors!

your SuSi 3 – #lightgearjunkie Package

Delivery

  • Glider
  • 50/50 AirPack
  • Map with Manual (USB stick)
  • Repair Materials and AirDesign Stickers

SuSi 3 – #lightgearjunkie

Der SuSi definiert seit Jahren den Standard in seiner Klasse. In der nun dritten Generation angekommen, werden neue Pfade beschritten und der Horizont erweitert

SuSi 3 – Fast, Simple & Safe!

Der kleinste zugelassene B-Schirm der Welt!

Der ursprüngliche Gedanke hinter dem Super Simple Konzept war und ist es eigentlich noch immer, ein einfachstes Design mit dem Besten an Leistung zu verbinden, eben perfekt für das Hike&Fly Abenteuer. Daher stammt auch der Name: Super Simple = SuSi. In der Gegenwart angekommen ist der neue SuSi3 zu einem Allround Hike&Fly Schirm mutiert. Geeignet für eine Vielzahl von Piloten und Einsatzbereichen.

  • Anfänger 75% 75%
  • Genußpilot 95% 95%
  • Experte 100% 100%
  • Ausbildung 25% 25%
  • Wettbewerbe (Dolomitenmann etc.) 100% 100%
  • Hike&Fly 100% 100%
  • XC 25% 25%

Pilotenprofil

Der SuSi3 ist perfekt für den Low-Level EN-B Piloten, der den leichtesten und gleichzeitig verzeihendsten Schirm sucht – aber genauso für den Extrembergsteiger, der das leichteste, kleinste und schnellste Equipment will. Der sehr große Gewichtsbereich des SuSi3 ermöglicht es, dass du die perfekte Größe für deine Ansprüche und Anforderungen wählen kannst. Wir haben zur besseren Übersicht eine Tabelle entworfen.

Suchst du einen Schirm mit normaler Trimm-Geschwindigkeit und Low-Level EN-B Flugeigenschaften, so wähle die Größe anhand der Felder in grün hinterlegt. Bei höherer Zuladung erhöht sich die Trimmgeschwindigkeit und dadurch steigt auch der Pilotenanspruch etwas an – die Sicherheit des Schirmes an sich bleibt relativ im Rahmen. Eine höhere Trimm-Geschwindigkeit erweitert zudem den Einsatzbereich – wie für Starkwind Soaring.  

Wie er sich fliegt

Das Konzept unseres Super Simple bezieht sich heutzutage nicht nur auf die Konstruktion, denn der SuSi3 ist einer der gutmütigsten Schirme am Markt. Bestätigt wird dies mit der Einstufung EN-B in vielen Größen und Gewichtsbereichen. Einfachstes Startverhalten und eine rocksolide Kappe, die den größten Turbulenzen trotzt zeichnen den SuSi aus.  

Zudem carvt der Schirm durch die Luft vergleichbar mit einem Slalomski im Stangenwald – wendig und agil. Manöver wie Ohren anlegen, B-Stall oder Spiralen kannst du einfach machen und sind vollkommen unkompliziert.

Bei Betätigen des Beschleunigers legt der SuSi3 mächtig an Geschwindigkeit zu, bleibt dabei aber stets stabil. Somit hast du viel Spielraum bei deinen Abenteuern.

Konstruktion & Features

Das Schirmgewicht: Eine gewichtsoptimierte Konstruktion und der Einsatz leichtester Materialien machen den SuSi3 äußerst klein im Packvolumen und zugleich superleicht – 1,85kg für die Größe 13 ist ein klares Statement.

Leistung und Geschwindigkeit: Ein neu entwickeltes Profil bringt ca. eine halbe Gleitzahl mehr an Leistung. Damit ist der SuSi3 vergleichbar mit den meisten Low-Level EN-B Schirmen. Je nach Zuladung und Größe kann der SuSi3 über 20 km/h mittels Beschleuniger zulegen und dabei weit über 60 km/h erreichen (kleinste Größe mit dem maximalen Gewicht!!!).

Tragegurte: Die Tragegurte sind, so wie der gesamte Schirm, gewichtsoptimiert und kommen in einem Dyneema-Leinen Stil. 

Die Größen: Bereits lange gewünscht: jetzt gibt es sie endlich, die 13er Größe. Die kleinste und schnellste Größe,  gedacht für die Speedjunkies und Dolomitenmänner. Das obere Ende stellt der 23er, der mehr den Intermediate Piloten anspricht.

“Der SuSi 3 ist wirklich der geilste Schirm den ich je geflogen bin. Ich hatte noch nie so viel Spaß am Fliegen wie jetzt. Ob gemütlicher Hike&Fly oder anspruchsvoller Wettbewerb à la Dolomitenmann; mit dem SuSi bin ich perfekt ausgestattet.”

– Michi Zelzer (RedBull Dolomitenmann Teilnehmer)

“Zum Fliegen im Starkwind an der Küste war der SuSi 3 für mich die erste Wahl. Ich bin absolut begeistert über die Geschwindigkeit und das so unfassbar simple jedoch total spaßige, agile Handling. Ich hatte wirklich noch nie einen solch geilen Schirm! “

– Geti G. (Akrokünstler am Schirm)

Technische Daten & Farben
Größe1316182123
Fläche ausgelegt (m2)13,6415,9518,0620,5722,99
Fläche projiziert (m2)11,7413,7215,5517,7019,79
Spannweite ausgelegt (m)8,138,799,369,9910,56
Spannweite projiziert (m)6,567,097,558,068,53
Streckung ausgelegt4,854,854,854,854,85
Streckung projiziert3,673,673,673,673,67
V-TRIM/V-MAX (km/h)41/6637/6236/5735/5635/56
Zellen3434343434
Gewicht (kg)1,862,052,292,562,81
LTF/EN KategorieEN DEN B-CEN B-CEN B-CEN B
Startgewicht (kg)60-8750-75 (B)
75-89 (C)
50-70 (B)
70-97 (C)
60-83 (B)
83-108 (C)
72-122

Segeltuch/Sail/Voile:
• Obersegel/Top Sail/Extrados: Porcher Skytex 27 classic II
• Untersegel/Bottom Sail/Intrados: Porcher Skytex 27 classic II
• Rippen/Ribs/Cloisons: Porcher Skytex 27 hard

Leinen/Lines/Suspentes:
• Gallerieleinen/Top lines/Suspentes hautes: Edelrid 8000/U-070, 090
• Gabelleinen/Middle lines/Suspentes moyennes: Edelrid 8000/U-130, 190
• Stammleinen/Main lines/Suspentes basses: Edelrid 8000/U-190, 230, 280

Tragegurt/Riser/Elévateurs: EDELRID Taurus – ~3,7mm Dyneema Rope
Schraubschäkel/Maillons: 4,3mm JOO-TECH/Korea

DURALIGHT
Vortex Holes
Flex – Rods
3D-Cut
Mini-Ribs
Razor Edge
Maillon clips
Unsheathed Lines
Superlight Dyneema Risers
BS pulley Connector
B/C control

Sonderfarben gewünscht?

Natürlich kannst du auch den SuSi 3 mit Hilfe unseres Konfigurators deinem Geschmack anpassen und in Sonderfarben bestellen!

dein SuSi 3 – #lightgearjunkie Paket

Lieferumfang

  • Gleitschirm
  • 50/50 AirPack
  • Mappe mit Handbuch (USB-Stick)
  • Reparaturmaterialien und AirDesign Aufkleber